FUTA Overview



In an effort to demonstrate the culture of giving back to its Alma Mata, the Alumni of the Federal University of Technology, Akure in diaspora have given  seven Students with proven academic excellence  scholarships. Speaking at the occasion held at the Theodore Idibiye Auditorium of the Institution on the 13th June, 2019, the facilitator and an Alumnus of FUTA from the University of Auburn, Alabama USA, Professor Henry Fadamiro, who  said he was pleased to represent FUTA in the diaspora , said  the scholarship scheme was their way of giving back to the institution which prepared them for excellence in their various vocation and profession.  He thanked the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Joseph Fuwape for his support and the good works he has embarked upon since he assumed office.  Reminiscing on his days as an undergraduate at FUTA in the 80s, Fadamiro said he feels great to be back home.  He congratulated the recipients of the scholarship and promised to assign a mentor each to every one of them.

Speaking earlier, the Vice-Chancellor commended the FUTA Alumni in diaspora for giving back to their Alma mata.  He congratulated the beneficiaries and charged them that the award given them is expected to spur them into achieving greater feat in their academic endeavours.  He maintained that FUTA remains the best University of Technology in Nigeria.  Professor Fuwape wished them well and assured them that the University will continue to make available whatever is required to excel. The trio of Dean Student Affairs, Professor Gbenga Onibi; Director, Advancement Centre, Professor Afolabi Akindahunsi and the President, FUTA Alumni worldwide, Mr. Adesomoju Olaitan congratulated the recipients and encouraged them to see the gesture as a rare opportunity and take their studies seriously. They particularly thanked the University Management for ensuring that the School atmosphere is conducive and the calendar is not altered.  The award was based strictly on merit and seven Students benefited with one per School from the seven Schools in the University.

The recipients include Kolawole T. A. from School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology (SAAT), Adebambo A. O. from School of Engineering and Engineering Technology (SEET), Toromade S. A. from School of Earth and Mineral Sciences (SEMS), Oke O. O. from School of Health and Health Technology (SHHT), Alimi A. O. School of Computing (SOC), Akinfe J. I. from School of Sciences (SOS) and Fawehinmi A. V. from School of Environmental Technology (SET).

Responding on behalf of the beneficiaries, Kolawole T. A. (SAAT) said the gesture is highly appreciated and a challenge to boost their effort in doing more.  He promised that they will live up to expectation and make the University proud.