FUTA Overview

FUTA Rewards Excellence

The Federal University of Technology Akure, FUTA was graced with drum rolls and celebration on Monday, November 13, 2023 as former Principal Officers, staff and students received the University’s Award of Excellence for outstanding performance and hard work at the Excellence and Productivity Award Ceremony organized as part of activities of the 33rd convocation of the University.
Speaking at the colourful event, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Adenike Oladiji recognized the dedication and commitment to the development of the University by members of staff and students, particularly citing the University’s recent ranking and attributing it to a collective effort. She noted that the ceremony was organized to reward the outstanding performance of deserving staff and students to the development of the University and to encourage more commitment towards productivity.
The Vice Chancellor who congratulated the Awardees for positioning themselves for recognition by their performances encouraged them to further benchmark themselves for participation towards the growth of the University, adding that only God could duly reward a person’s efforts. She urged them to continue to lend their support to the University as ambassadors.
Emphasizing on the reward of hard work as the basis of the ceremony, the Chair of the Award Committee, who is also the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Development, Professor Sunday Oluyamo explained that the awards were in different categories to capture staff and students’ performance across board. He noted that the award ceremony was not sufficient to capture and reward the excellence of all deserving staff and students; however, it was a representation of different categories within the University. 
He also commended staff and students hard work in keeping the name of the University at the top of research and development among the comity of Universities. He thanked the Vice Chancellor for providing an enabling environment for staff and students to thrive irrespective of prevailing circumstances in the nation.
Moving the vote of thanks, the Chair of the University Ceremonials Committee, Professor Eunice Adeparusi expressed appreciation to the Awardees for their contributions to the University. She noted that everyone was equal before God, though people had been selected in different categories for the honour.
She enjoined both staff and students not to relent in excelling in their different fields, nor be weary in giving back to the University but to continue to do their best to develop the University and improve its image.
Responding on behalf of the Awardees, Professor Philip Oguntunde, the recipient of the Remarkable Achievement award thanked God, the University Management, staff and students for finding them worthy of recognition. He thanked colleagues, family and friends for coming out to celebrate them and prayed for FUTA to continue to move forward; and for everyone to stay committed to the continued development of the University. 
Also responding, Mrs. Adebusola Akinyugha, who won the best senior staff award said it was a motivation for the Awardees to do better and a call on other members of the University community not to relent in doing due diligence at work.
Roll of Honour 
1. Best Researcher Dr. O. A. E. Oke        QSV/SET
2. Best Inventor        Dr. E. O. Olutomilola IPE/SEET
3. Best Dean Professor O. F. Oludahunsi FST/SAAT
4. Best Technologist Engineer M. O. Tanimola CVE/SEET
5. Best Senior Staff Mrs. A. A. Akinyugha Examinations and Records/Registry
6. Best Junior Staff Mr. O. K. Oni Bursary
7. Best Senior Staff Technical Mr. J. A. Oluwalaanu Industrial Training Unit
8. Best Lecturer Dr. O. O. Ojo IPE/SEET
9. Remarkable Achievement Professor P. G. Oguntunde AGE/SEET
11. Selfless Service Prof. O. A. Awodele QSV/SET (Academic)
Mr. J. O  Adebusuyi Bursary (Non-Academic)
12. Meritorious Service Award Mr. T. Afolayan Bursary
13. Long Service Award Mr. I. I. Oluwadebi Bursary
14. Mr. A. O. Aofolaju Works and Services
15. Mr. D. O. Adeyemi SAAT (CSP)
16. Mr. M. O. Olasoji SPS (PHY)
17. Mr. A. A. Olofinsawe University Library
18. Mrs. H. O. Folorunso Registry (CAD)
19. Mr. O. Familusi Works and Services
20. Mr. H. I. Alamuoye SPS (PHY)
21. Mrs. I. M. Olorundare Hall Residence
22. Mrs. I. T. Familuji University Library
23. Mr. S. D. Evwiniovure Security
24. Mr. R. T. Opedule Internal Audit
25. Mr. I. Y. Amodu Security
26. Mrs. E. M. Ibitoye SPS (STA)
27. Mrs. E. Y. Olukolade SEMS (Dean’s Office)
28. Professor F. O. Olubode-Sawe INTED (GNS)
29. Professor O. O. Akinbamijo SET (URP)
30. Sport Award Aramide, I. STA/18/8398
31. Onovughe, O. MNE/17/3597
32. Oyakhilome, D. O IDD/19/1953
33. Egeonu, M. AGY/17/2555
34. Oloyen, J. EWM/16/6607
35. Akinduro, G. PHY/19/2815
36. Odeyemi, T. IDD/13/4365
37. Jacob, A. IFT/18/6009
38. Adeyanju, R. BDG/16/8610
39. Koinyan, I. BCH/19/2306
40. Agunbiade, T. O. AGY/16/7217
41. Joseph, N. RSG/18/6407
42. Olarewaju, T. AGE/18/6531
43. Adebayo, J. BIO/18/7888
44. Sowunmi, B AGE/18/6531
45. Bello, T BIO/18/7888
46. Popoola, I. BDG/19/1860
47. Leadership Award Adedoyin, V. O. MCS/17/2734
48. Alao, R. I. IDD/17/3820
49. Ojo, D. O. PHY/17/4875
50. Alakuko, E. O. AGP/18/6181
51. Binuyo, I. M. ESM/17/3768
52. Bankole-Ojo, T. MCS/17/2752
53. Alozie, C. E. PHY/17/4770
54. Adesoji, L. O. FAT/17/1893
55. Agidi, O. C. APH/17/1641
56. Ibrahim, D. O. CVE/17/3031
57. Nweke, J. A. BCH/17/4278
58. Asoore, J. A. MNE/18/7115
59. Sulaimon, G. T. MCB/18/8213
60. Sodiq, B. A. ICT/19/1518
61. Alatise, I. MST/18/6257
62. Olasupo, G. D. CPE/19/1311
63. Akinmeji, E. O. CYS/18/5885
64. Ogunmokun, A. C. MCS/18/6339
65. Kilaso, O. G. QSV/18/7509
66. Coker, A. K. MNE/18/7121
67. Agbomuserin, B. J. URP/18/7598
68. Olawumi, J. O. CSP/18/5449
69. Adeniji, O. S. CPE/18/6633
70. Award of Meritorious Service 
Professor J. A. Fuwape Vice Chancellor, 2017-2022
71. Professor D. R. Ogunsemi DVC (A), 2019-2023
72. Professor O. Arayela DVC (A), 2015-2019
73. Professor T. L. Akinbogun DVC (D), 2012-2016
74. Professor P. G. Oguntunde DVC (D), 2018-2023
75. Dr. (Mrs.) M. O. Ajayi Registrar, 2011-2017
76. Mr. R. A Arifalo Registrar, 2017-2023
77. Mr. E. Oresegun Bursar, 2014-2019
78. Vice Chancellor’s Special Recognition Award Mr. M. Oloriegbe Security Unit
79. Mr. O. A. Ajayi Vice Chancellor’s Office
80. Mr. M. E. Godwin Vice Chancellor’s Lodge
81. Alhaji A. L. Alli Parks and Garden Unit
82. Professor J. S. Ojo PHY/SPS
83. Professor D. O. Oke Students’ Affairs
84. Professor S. O. Akindele FWT/SAAT
85. Mr. Hope Jimoh Vice Chancellor’s Office
86. Professor (Mrs.) F. M. Olajuyigbe BCH/SLS