FUTA Overview

FUTA Alumni Association Promises Better Deal for ALMA MATER as New Executive Takes Charge

The Federal University of Technology Akure Alumni Association Worldwide has a new set of Executive Council that will pilot its affairs for the next two years. Members of the Executive Council led by Engr Adeyemi Bello took their oath of office before the University Legal Officer, Barrister Efosa Osiomwanuri, on Tuesday, December 12th, 2023, at the main hall of the Alumni Building. In the acceptance speech, on behalf of members of his team, Bello thanked members of the Association for a successful election and for the confidence reposed in them to steer the ship of the Association. Adeyemi who got reelected for a second term in office promised to build a united family that will respond to the needs of the members and consolidate its support for the Alma Mater. Eng. Bello said his team will think out of the box to formulate ways to create a more dynamic and result oriented platform between FUTA Advancement Centre, FUTA Trust Fund and the FUTA Alumni Association Worldwide to yield more significant outcomes for the University. He promised to ensure that the next two years of their tenure witness increased Human Capital development amongst members and better interventions in the development of the University. To ensure that this comes to fruition , the President said , “ We have created the Alumni Presidential Award for a healthy completion among individuals or groups who showed much contributions to our Alma Mater : FUTA 95-01 Set got the maiden award for their outstanding contributions to the growth of FUTA during the 2023 Alumni Convention.” Speaking earlier, the Vice Chancellor, Professor Adenike Oladiji, represented by the Dean, School of Post Graduate Studies and Acting Chairman committee of Deans, Professor Oluayo Bello-Olusoji, congratulated the new officers and charged them not to relent on their effort. She advised the officers to ensure unity by working together to achieve common objectives. Professor Oladiji commended the national Working Committee, the National Executive Committee and the electoral committee for a peaceful and credible electoral process. She urged them to continue to fly FUTA flag high and wished them a successful tenure in office. The newly elected officers include Dr, (Mrs.) Salau Bukola ,Vice President, Comr. Omoniyi Ojo , General Secretary, Comr. Ishola Oliwasina , PRO, Comr. Fatoki Akintunde , National Welfare, Mrs. Kate Unagha , Financial Secretary, Dr Sylvester Olatunji a, Treasurer, Comr. Idede Oseyande , Assistant Gen Sec, and Comr. Okubanjo Haruna as the National Auditor.