FUTA Overview

FUTA Vice Chancellor Tasks New Student’ Union Officials On Quality Leadership

The Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology Akure, FUTA, Professor Adenike Oladiji, has advised the newly elected students Union leaders of the institution to employ consultation and consensus building in carrying out their duties of providing quality leadership. She gave the admonition at the swearing in ceremony of the new leaders on Thursday, October 12, 2023. 

Professor Oladiji while congratulating the officers of the Union urged them to always advance the cause of FUTA at every opportunity in all their activities, programmes and policies. She said, “Leadership is not a bread-and-butter affair as it comes with responsibilities which demand tenacity of purpose and consensus and peace building. To provide quality leadership, you should always factor in the good of the University in all your programmes and engagements. You are ambassadors of the University and this should guide your programmes, utterances and actions at all times.”  

Professor Oladiji advised the new officers to diligently work well with their main constituency, the students, if they hope to get the best out of them. The vice chancellor, while charting the path to quality leadership, implored the Officers to engage in robust discussions in their meetings and to always consult widely and not force personal opinions on colleagues and those they are leading. She commended those who lost in the election for accepting the result with equanimity and urged them not to give up on the dreams and aspirations they believe in. 

The Dean, Students Affairs Unit, Professor Olarenwaju Oke in his remark congratulated the newly elected student leaders and urged them to prepare for the great job ahead. He appreciated the efforts of the Students Electoral Commission and all those who were involved in the electioneering process. Professor Oke commended the tenacity of purpose of the immediate past executives led by Asoore Jesunifemi Abiodun aka (Ten ten). He thanked the University Management for creating the enabling environment that ensured free and fair election and orderly transition of the students’ Union leadership. 

In his inaugural speech, shortly after taking the oath of office administered by the Speaker of the Students Representative Council, Right Hon. Femi Falana, President FUTASU, Oluwasorimidayo Olayemi said contesting to be President of the Union was not a forced cause or an avenue to seek a platform to earn the tittle, President. He said the actualization of his aspiration is the outcome of a dream, backed up by the consistent hard work and strategy inspired by the wisdom from God to serve and contribute to the development of the Union and by extension the University.  

He implored all the other executive officers to work hand in hand with him to create a better Union with better integrity, Uniqueness for the good of all students. Oluwasoromidayo ,with the mantra Let’s Get It Right, asked his fellow students to exercise patience while the newly inaugurated officers execute their agenda. 

The Governor of Ondo State, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu (SAN), who was represented by an alumna of the University who is also the Special Adviser, Gender Matters Hon, (Mrs.) Olamide Falana, advised the newly elected officers to work with synergy, sincerity and accountability. He advised them to ensure that a check and balance mechanism is put in place to check the excesses of erring officers. The Governor gave kudos to the Vice Chancellor for her sterling achievements within her short period of being the Vice Chancellor and also assured her that Ondo State Government is always ready to partner with FUTA in order for the institution to continue to maintain its pride of place in the Nigerian University system. 

The newly elected officers include: Olayemi Oluwasoromidayo - President FUTASU. Adegunle Bolutife Grace - Vice President Sodiq Bashir Ayomide - General Secretary. Nwadike Divine Victory - Assistant General Secretary. Abimbola Oriade Williams - Financial Secretary. Akande Gloria Oluwadarasimi - Welfare Director. Olaniyi Olamide - Treasurer. Olumekun Solomon Adedimeji - PRO Shotonwa Victor - Director of Sports Okoye Princewill - Social Director